Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Getty Duff - "Vomit on the Blacktop" - 2008?

The third record in our Getty Duff series would appear to be an earlier effort - there's still no official year or label info, but the copyright date is listed as 2008. This one is all originals, and while they're not blues exactly, there's definitely a blues-ish influence throughout, and many of the tunes fall roughly into a 12-bar format. The presentation as a whole is a tad more polished than his other records - it sounds like it might actually have been recorded in a studio this time and Mr. Duff might even have been mostly sober. However, don't assume things are too cleaned up here (the cover photo should give you at least fair warning).

1. Seventeen
2. Bones
3. Gold
4. 99 Blues
5. Train Wreck Blues
6. Good News Never Knocks at Midnight
7. Turn Me Over
8. Boy
9. Escape Artist (Blues for Eddie)
10. Let's Drag Her Down The Sidewalk